Published on: Sep 27 2017 | Author: Zac Milbank |

SANFL clubs continue to strengthen their local ties, with as many as 52 players earning $26,000 for Community Football Clubs under the BankSA Rookie program.

Surpassing the total of 46 players who made their debut last year, the class of 2017 each earned $500 for their original Community Football Club as well as a framed picture of them to hang in the clubrooms.

Speaking on SANFL Radio, Woodville-West Torrens forward Jack Lukosius said he relished the chance to become the final BankSA Rookie for the season by playing his first Macca’s League game in the Preliminary Final.

The talented Eagles forward kicked four of his team’s eight goals and while it was painful to lose to eventual premier Sturt, Lukosius sent a clear message that he’s ready to take the next step after booting three majors in the first term.

Finishing with 12 disposals and eight marks to go with his four-goal haul, Lukosius paid tribute to his junior club Henley FC, which also received $500 talent fees after the debuts on Glenelg’s Jackson Edwards and West’s Tom Pillion.

Round 1 proved to be the most productive weekend for Bank SA Rookies, with a total of 13 players from seven SANFL clubs playing their first Macca’s League match.



Round 1
Alex Martini (Glenelg) – Brighton FC
Ian Milera (Glenelg) – Koonibba FC
Mark Quinn (North) – Tea Tree Gully FC
Blake Helyar (North) – Tea Tree Gully FC
Ryan Llewellyn (Central) – Tea Tree Gully FC
Jack Hayes (Eagles) – Brinkworth Spalding Redhill FC
Jake Comitogianni (Eagles) – Woodville South FC
Mitch Crowden (Sturt) – Meadows FC
Chol Majok (West) – Flagstaff Hill FC
Zac Bates (West) – Barmera Monash FC
Damon Hill (Adelaide) – Torrens Valley FC
Joey Brown (Adelaide) – Kapunda FC
Louis De Michele (Adelaide) – Imperials FC

Round 2
Josh Richardson (Central) – Salisbury North FC
Joel Thiele (Sturt) – Unley FC

Round 3
Connor Fairlie (South) – Goodwood Saints FC
Tom Pillion (West) Henley FC
Sam McInerney (North) – Jamestown-Peterborough FC
John Boxer (Adelaide) – Gaza FC
Blake Launder (Adelaide) – Eudunda-Robertstown FC

Round 4
Darcy Fogarty (Glenelg) – Lucindale FC
Matthew Raitt (South) – Flagstaff Hill FC

Round 5
Will Hewett (Central) – Broughton-Mundoora FC
Dwayne Wilson (Sturt) – Imperials FC

Round 6
Josh Stevens (West) – Unley FC

Round 7
Dakota Nixon (North) – Gepps Cross FC
Tom Pinyon (Adelaide) – Mount Compass FC

Round 8
Todd Slade (Glenelg) – Brinkworth Spalding Redhill FC
Lee Minervini (North) – Gaza FC
Tyler McPherson (West) – PHOS Camden FC

Round 9
Ben Walter (Central) – Loxton North FC
Dylan Weaver (Central) – Tea Tree Gully FC
Jake Westbrook (Eagles) – Paskeville FC
Alex Moyle (South) – Reynella FC

Round 10
Jack Firns (Eagles) – Seaton Ramblers FC
Marcus Barreau (Central) – South Gawler FC

Round 11
Brayden Kirk (North) – Crystal Brook FC
Daniel Fry (Adelaide) – Goolwa-Port Elliot FC
Braden Altus (Adelaide) – Willunga FC

Round 12
Cody Szust (South) – Bridgewater-Callington FC
Josh Dodd (Sturt) – Mannum FC
Jackson Lee (Eagles) – Brinkworth Spalding Redhill FC

Round 13
Josh Vandermeer (Adelaide) – Flagstaff Hill FC
Chris Olsson (Norwood) – Tea Tree Gully FC

Round 14
Daniel Minney (Eagles) – South Clare FC
Ryan Marini (Adelaide) – Payneham Norwood Union FC
Jordan Sweet (North) – Tea Tree Gully FC

Round 15
Jackson Edwards (Glenelg) – Henley FC

Round 16
Joe Heinjus (Eagles) – Crystal Brook FC

Round 18
Jesse McKinnon (South) – Victor Harbor FC
Dustin Head (West) – Border Downs Tintinara FC

Preliminary Final
Jack Lukosius (Eagles) – Henley FC