Football News

2019 Leadership Group

Patrick Giuffreda and Luke Thompson will again co-captain the club in 2019 as a part of a six-man leadership group.

After being voted in by their peers for a fifth consecutive season, both players said it was a great honour to be able to continue to captain the Woodville West Torrens Football Club.

“There is no greater honour for me than to captain our great Club. I love the Eagles and look forward to driving us towards the ultimate success in 2019,” said Giuffreda.

“To be voted in again by my peers is something very special to me. I can’t wait to get out there and play footy with my best mates,” said Thompson.

2016 Club Champion Jared Petrenko has been named Vice-Captain after also featuring prominently amongst the votes from his peers. 2017 Club Champion Joseph Sinor has been included for the first time as has midfielder Louis Sharrad and defender Matthew Goldsworthy.

Senior coach Sam Lonergan said, “It’s a great achievement to be voted in by your peers and it gives our entire squad ownership and confidence in the direction of our Club for 2019. All six players have their own leadership styles which is a sign of our squads’ maturity during the selection process. I’m very pleased to be working with these leaders during 2019.”

2019 WWTFC Leadership Group
Patrick Giuffreda (Captain)
Luke Thompson (Captain)
Jared Petrenko (Vice-Captain)
Matthew Goldsworthy
Louis Sharrad
Joseph Sinor