Football News

2021 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year


Minor premier Norwood has a strong influence in the 2021 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year, with five players selected in the elite group of Statewide Super Women’s League stars.

The Redlegs, who only lost two matches during the 11-round home-and-away schedule, have Sophie Armitstead (interchange) named as vice-captain of the 22 while Rosette Zerella (forward pocket), Jade Halfpenny (half-forward flank), Morgan Johnston (half-back flank) and veteran Leah Cutting (ruck) were also chosen.

First-year Norwood mentor Mat Creeper was also recognised for steering his side into the double-chance Second Semi-Final, having successfully blended his new-look squad while having as many as four players recognised as Powerade Breakthrough Player nominees during the minor round.

Grand finalist Glenelg supplies the captain of the 2021 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year in tough defender Ellie Kellock while Jessica Bates (ruck rover) and Brooke Tonon (half-back flank) also had their outstanding campaigns recognised.

West Adelaide is represented by emerging superstar Lauren Young in the centre while former Carlton defender Sharnie Whiting is at centre half-back and Zoe Venning at half-forward.

Fellow finalist South Adelaide has versatile Gypsy Schirmer on the wing while a strong second half of the season ensured former Crow Nicole Campbell would force her way onto the interchange as a midfield rotation.

Reigning premier North Adelaide supplied three players, experienced defender Kristi Harvey at full back, speedy Erica Greet on the wing and unheralded Amelie Borg in the back pocket.

Central District’s twin towers inside 50m give the side plenty of structure with SANFLW leading goal kicker Chantelle Reynolds at full forward and the competition’s leading mark taker at the end of the minor round, Katelyn Rosenzweig, at centre-half forward. Bulldogs skipper Shelby Smith is also an important member of the onball brigade, starting from the interchange.

Sturt ball magnets Izzy Kuiper (rover) and Alisha Gepp (interchange) were also unable to be ignored after their impressive seasons while exciting youngster Shineah Goody (forward pocket) is the Eagles’ sole selection.

Based on performance across the minor round, the 2021 The Advertiser SANFLW Team of the Year was selected by SANFL General Manager Football Matt Duldig, SANFL Female Talent Manager Robbie Neill, SANFL Football Operations Coordinator Daniel Joyce, SANFL Head of Football Operations Sean Toohey, SANFL Media Producer Zac Milbank and Messenger Sports Reporter Daniela Abbracciavento.