Football News

Daniel Menzel Wins 2022 Ken Farmer Medal


Livewire Woodville-West Torrens forward Daniel Menzel claimed the 2022 Ken Farmer Medal as the Hostplus SANFL League’s leading goal-kicker at the end of the minor round.

Menzel, who finished with a three-goal haul against South in Round 19, is the seventh Eagles player to win the Ken Farmer Medal.

Joining Woodville’s Malcolm Blight (1985) and Stephen Nichols (1986, 1988), together with Eagles Scott Morphett (1993), Mark Passador (2006), Michael Wundke (2014) and James Rowe (2020), the 30-year-old finished with a total of 51 goals.

The former Geelong Cat registered significant hauls of seven (v Port in Round 14) and six (v North in Round 1) while also booting two bags of five in Round 4 and Round 7.

Trailing by nine goals heading into the final minor round, runner-up Lachie Hosie was only able to make up one goal, with his match-winning major giving him four against Central at the Bay.

Sturt’s Abe Davis, who was squeezed out of the League line-up in Round 19, was next best placed with 36 goals while North’s Keenan Ramsey (35) edged out triple Ken Farmer Medallist Liam McBean (34) by one goal.

Introduced in 1981, the Ken Farmer Medal is named in honour of North Adelaide’s legendary goal kicking champion Ken Farmer.

Farmer played 13 seasons with North from 1929 – 1941 and kicked 1417 League goals, a record that still stands today.

In 11 consecutive seasons, Farmer broke the 100 goal milestone and was the league leading goalkicker in each.

2022 Ken Farmer Medal Leaderboard

Player Club Goals
Daniel Menzel Woodville-West Torrens 51
Lachie Hosie Glenelg 43
Abe Davis Sturt 36
Keenan Ramsey North 35
Liam McBean Glenelg 34