Football News

Knight & Menzel In Elite Team

Two key Eagles have been selected in the 2022 Advertiser SANFL Team Of The Year.


Ken Farmer Medallist Daniel Menzel was a natural fit at full forward having kicked an eye-catching 51 goals in the minor round as he joined fellow Eagle Riley Knight (ruck rover), one of the Magarey Medal favourites after averaging 29.3 disposals.

Both were also key players in this year’s State Team for South Australia.

Players who played fewer than 12 of the 18 minor round games were not considered for selection.

The Advertiser SANFL Team of the Year was selected by SANFL’s Matthew Duldig, Sean Toohey, Zac Milbank and Daniel Joyce, The Advertiser’s Andrew Capel, Football Budget editor Peter Cornwall, and Channel 7’s Mark Soderstrom and John Casey.

Port Adelaide and West Adelaide were the two clubs without a player listed.