Club News

Knight the Coaches Choice – R. O. Shearman Medal

Riley Knight has taken out the 2022 R. O. Shearman Medal as the SANFL Player of the Year as voted by the 10 League Coaches.

Knight’s consistency throughout 2022 was reflected in averaging 29.3 disposals, five marks, six tackles and five clearances to imprint himself as one of the competition’s most damaging players.

Riley becomes the fourth Eagle to take out this prestigious award following Gavin Colville (2000), Justin Cicolella (2006), and Jared Petrenko (2016). Eagles coach Jade Sheedy was also a recipient of this award in 2008 when playing for Sturt.

Voted on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis by the SANFL coaches during the minor round, the R. O. Shearman Medal voting appears weekly on the SANFL website.

Knight also fell just 2 votes short in this year’s Magarey Medal, when unfortunately after collecting 11 first quarter disposals in the final minor round match, was struck down with a hamstring injury.

We congratulate Riley on a great 2022 season, and will go into the Eagles Club Champion awards night on Friday September 30th as red hot favourite.