2022 Hostplus SANFL League – Captains Call


Sturt is expected to be the the big riser in the 2022 Hostplus SANFL League season after all 10 captains tipped the Double Blues to qualify for the finals at Tuesday’s Season Launch.

Finishing in sixth place after winning seven of their last nine matches in 2021, the Double Blues appear primed to surge further up the ladder in their second season of premiership mentor Marty Mattner’s second stint at Unley.

Glenelg edged out 2021 premier Woodville-West Torrens as the most likely team to play in the Grand Final while South Adelaide is considered a strong chance to again back up their past two appearances in the Preliminary Final.

Asked to name a Magarey Medallist not from their club, the skippers gave Bryce Gibbs and James Battersby two votes each while Alex Spina was the roughie amongst the field after being nominated by housemate Battersby.

Triple Ken Farmer Medallist Liam McBean was widely given the nod to win his fourth goal kicking award in succession while Tigers captain Max Proud, unable to nominate McBean, opted for West skipper Tom Keough to surprise in attack this year.


Who will your team play in the 2022 Hostplus SANFL League Grand Final?
Glenelg – 6
Eagles – 4

Which other three teams will play in the 2022 Hostplus SANFL League Finals Series?
Sturt – 8
South – 7
Eagles – 5
Glenelg – 3
Port – 3
North – 2
Norwood – 2

Who will win the 2022 Magarey Medal?
Bryce Gibbs (South) – 2
James Battersby (Sturt) – 2
Hamish Hartlett (West) – 1
Matthew Snook (Glenelg) – 1
Luke Partington (Glenelg) – 1
Patrick Wilson (Sturt) – 1
Dylan Clarke (Eagles) – 1
Alex Spina (North) – 1

Who will win the 2022 Ken Farmer Medal?
Liam McBean (Glenelg) – 9
Tom Keough (West) – 1